Prior to Purchase
- Make sure you are eligible to purchase a firearm in your state. In California, a person must be at least 18 years of age to purchase a rifle or shotgun and 21 years of age to purchase a handgun. There will be a background check.
- Here is an example of the questions you will need to answer for your purchase.
- If you are not picking up the firearm in our local store, we can only ship to another FFL dealer. So please locate an FFL dealer in your area that will process your paperwork. Please speak to them before purchasing your firearm from our online store. They should be aware that you are having the gun shipped to their location for your retrieval. Speak to them about their fees and the process.
- California maintains a Roster of Firearms Certified for Sale. Check with your state’s roster to make sure you purchase a compliant firearm. States may also impose magazine capacity limits. For example, in California the handgun magazine capacity shall not exceed 10 rounds. Also, some manufacturers do not want to pay the individual state taxes imposed for each model number sold in that state. Consequently, some model numbers are not available for purchase if you live in certain states. So make sure the firearm you are purchasing is not prohibited for purchase in your state.
Online Purchase Process
- Choose the firearm that is legal to purchase in your State.
- You can choose to pick-up the firearm in our local store or have us ship it to your local FFL dealer.
- Verify that you are using the correct billing and shipping addresses. We cannot ship to a P.O. Box. If you purchase any accessories for your firearm, they will be shipped separately. The accessories are shipped to your shipping address. Whereas, firearms are shipped to the FFL dealer you designate.
- After having received the firearm you purchased from us, your local FFL dealer will collect your DROS fees and the local taxes before releasing the firearm to you. Depending on the local gun laws, there may or may not be a waiting period before that FFL dealer releases the firearm to you.
The Local Purchase Process or Local Pick-up:
- California Law limits the purchase of handguns to no more than one handgun transferred from a dealer to an individual within any 30-day period.
- You will need a Firearms Safety Certificate. If you do not have the FSC, we do provide the testing service.
- Make an appointment to visit our store.
- Bring your California ID (Identification) as well as proof of residency. (see below)
- Arrive 5 – 10 minutes before your appointment time.
- Choose your firearm(s).
- Provide proof via model number that you have a safe or locked container for your firearm.
- Complete the required questionnaires and pay for your firearm.
- Wait the necessary 10 days (to the minute) before taking possession.
- After 10 days, visit our store to retrieve your firearm. You do not need an appointment for this. In store, you will need to perform a Safe Handling Demonstration (SHD). This is a test where you show us that you can correctly and safely check to see if your firearm is unloaded. We provide a dummy round that you can use to load and unload to show us that you understand the procedure for determining if your gun is loaded or unloaded.
Bring your ID Identification. Passport, CA ID or CA Drivers License or Military ID with PCS orders with you. Your ID should include the physical address where you live, not a PO Box or business address.
Bring proof of residency. This could be a utility bill, residential lease, property deed, or government-issued identification (other than a drivers license or other DMV-issued identification).
If the purchaser is not a U.S. Citizen, then the purchaser is required to demonstrate that he or she is legally within the United States by providing Discount Guns with documentation containing his/her Alien Registration Number or I-94 Number.
California law imposes a 10-day waiting period (to the minute) before a firearm can be released to a purchaser or transferee.
By state law, if you do not take “physical possession” of your gun within 30 days of submission of the Dealers Record of Sale (DROS) information, the dealer must cancel the sale. If that time passes, you must repeat the entire DROS process including payment.
Fees: The California State fee for purchase or transfer is $25.00 per firearm.
If you are a California resident, you may voluntarily request a determination from the California DOJ as to whether you are eligible to possess firearms (review of California records only) . The personal firearms eligibility check application form and instructions are on the California DOJ website. The cost for the eligibility check is $20.00.
Link to California Firearms FAQs